Go Down

Topic: Motor stuttering with the PS2X Library (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

matty0997

Hi guys,

I have started my own rover project where the rover is being controlled by a ps2 remote. To control the robot I am using the PS2X library. The problem that I am getting is that the motors keep stuttering when the button is pressed instead of a constant motion.

I am fairly new to this so can someone point out where I am going wrong please. The code that I have created is below.

Thanks.

#include <PS2X_lib.h>

#include <Servo.h>

#define clk 9
#define cmd 7
#define att 8
#define dat 6

#define Deadzone 2

#define lservo_pin 13
#define rservo_pin 12

#define pressures true
#define rumble true

Servo leftservo;
Servo rightservo;

PS2X ps2;
int error = 0 ;
byte type = 0;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  delay(300);

pinMode(7, INPUT);

error = ps2.config_gamepad(clk, cmd, att, dat, pressures, rumble);

leftservo.attach(lservo_pin);
rightservo.attach(rservo_pin);

}
void loop() {

ps2.read_gamepad();

if(ps2.Button(PSB_PAD_UP))
    {
      leftservo.write(120);
      rightservo.write(120);
    }

else if(ps2.Button(PSB_PAD_DOWN))
      {
        leftservo.write(40);
        rightservo.write(40);
      }

else if (ps2.Button(PSB_PAD_LEFT))
    {
      leftservo.write(40);
      rightservo.write(140);
    }
  else if(ps2.Button(PSB_PAD_RIGHT))
    {
      leftservo.write(140);
      rightservo.write(40);
    }

else
      {
      leftservo.write(90);
      rightservo.write(90);
      }

delay(50);
}

PaulS

The problem that I am getting is that the motors keep stuttering when the button is pressed instead of a constant motion.
What do you mean by "stuttering"?

Which button?

There is nothing in the code to cause a smooth motion. The servos are told to go to some position, but not how to get there.

How are the servos powered?
The art of getting good answers lies in asking good questions.

matty0997