Go Down

Topic: Using Arduino for Slot car timing (Read 4166 times) previous topic - next topic

Louisbaby

Hi all

I am relatively new to Arduino and the world of programming, But I am already hooked on the few things I've tried...

Being the holiday season again, I took out my Scalextric set for some fun with the kids. And in playing a few evenings ago, I thought of creating a slot car lap counter as well as lap timing program using Arduino. Firstly, I'll admit to scouring the Internet in search of a quick tutorial or step-by-step guide. But I haven't found one. But the desire to create one is all the more present now...

So here is what my plan is:

Arduino Mega or Nano (I have both)
Reed switches glued under the track.

And I would like to use my Laptop to read back the info.

Here is the code I found for a simple counter using reed switches:

I'll add more later...

UKHeliBob

Welcome to the forum.

Please read this and follow the advice on posting the code here using code tags.  Using them makes it much easier to copy the program into an editor without downloading it.
Please do not send me PMs asking for help.  Post in the forum then everyone will benefit from seeing the questions and answers.

jurs

Being the holiday season again, I took out my Scalextric set for some fun with the kids. And in playing a few evenings ago, I thought of creating a slot car lap counter as well as lap timing program using Arduino. Firstly, I'll admit to scouring the Internet in search of a quick tutorial or step-by-step guide. But I haven't found one. But the desire to create one is all the more present now...
A while ago a guy in the German forum asked for a lap counting/timing code for his "Carrera-Bahn", which is the common brand of slot cars here in Germany.

I created him a small Arduino sketch for this hardware:
- Carrera-Bahn with 2 slot cars
- Arduino UNO
- LCD Keypad Shield as a display
- 2 reed switches glued under the track