Go Down

Topic: Documentation should be improved to distinguish between macros and functions! (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

VinzC

Hi all.

I'm a happy user and hacker with Arduino. My next projects will be based on AVR and I enjoy Arduino for I now have a test bench and a hardware development environment that is absolutely awesome.

Now there's one thing that bugs me and it's the documentation.

I am a developer and C/C++, PHP, Lua, Python are my languages of reference. I do really hate to see two lines of code when only one says it all. I'm a great one-liner, if you like.

I've just spent two hours trying to figure out why this simple code didn't work:
Code: [Select]
int value = 0x30;

void setup()
{
  // Open serial communications and wait for port to open:
  Serial.begin(57600);
  Serial.println("Awaiting your orders...!");
  Serial.setTimeout(50);
}

void loop()
{
  if (Serial.available() > 0)
  {
    // Read integer
    value = constrain( Serial.parseInt(), 0, 255 );
    // Then flush input buffer
    while ( Serial.available() > 0 )
      Serial.read();
    Serial.println( value, DEC );
  }
}

The symptom: using the serial monitor, whether I use line termination or not, the monitor always shows a zero echoed by the Arduino:
Quote from: Serial Monitor
Awaiting your orders...!
I could type any integer value (1, 3, 12, 50), only a zero was echoed, obviously after a timeout, which I also wondered why.

After fiddling around, cutting through the code, swearing and staying puzzled for a while, I then tried this:
    value = Serial.parseInt();
    value = constrain( value, 0, 255 );

and *BAM* it worked!

I then *guessed* my mistake (if there was any) was to believe constrain() is a function. If it is a macro then it makes sense: a macro would call no less than twice Serial.parseInt() in such a code. But the documentation nowhere states what kind of call constraint() is:
Quote from: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/Constrain