Go Down

Topic: Best way to use 30 7-Segment Displays (Read 497 times) previous topic - next topic

Mazon

Jan 09, 2016, 10:26 pm Last Edit: Jan 09, 2016, 10:36 pm by Mazon
Hey everyone,
I'd like to control 30 7-Segment Displays with an Arduino board. You should know in advance that this is my first project of this kind. I newer drew an electric circuit before, never soldered anythink. Only thing I'm quite good at is programming :)

So a friend of mine had this idea to build a panel to control a flight simulator. (I know, this isn't new and you can buy stuff like this for little money, but we want to to it anyways to gain experience)

So we need to display 4 frequencies (6 digits each) and another 6 digits to display autopilot data. That makes 30 digits.

What we did so far:
Both of us know close to nothing about electric circuits, so we read alot tutorials and watched a few videos to make ourselfs more familar with this "kind of stuff".

We obviously want to use as less output pins as needed on our arduino. So far we like to use the Arduino Uno (not sure if that's possible though). In this configuration we'd need 12 pins to control the displays, which would only give us 2 for other inputs. So if we can't come up with a different solution we might go for the Arduino Due.

Some questions:
First of all, attached is a layout for an electric circuit, you may want to have a look at it since the questions basically base on it. (The displays we got are common cathode)

1) Will we get a "good" result when multiplexing 30 displays? Or will this lead to flickering and/or low brightness?

2) I looked for a shift register with more than 8 bits, which would make everything a bit less complicated, but I couldn't find anything specific.

3) I didn't put in any resistors yet, just because I'm not sure whether I need them or not, since we have 5V input, and our components all seem to handle 5V just fine.