Go Down

Topic: Rainfall data logging (Read 2614 times) previous topic - next topic

razadams

Aug 19, 2009, 01:06 pm Last Edit: Aug 19, 2009, 01:09 pm by razadams Reason: 1
Hi,

I have a rainfall meter that I have wired up with a reed switch and into the digital input of arduino duemilanove. I have it wirelessly transmitting the data back to pc via an Xbee shield and have it updating a counter, however the pc will not be running all the time.

I need the arduino to hold the counts in memory until I clear it after calling the count via VB6, and most importantly I need to associate the counts with a time. I need to know when it was that the rainfall occurred. I have to be careful about how much memory I am utilising by doing this and am worried adding time and date to each reading will  utilise all the memory in no time at all. I am a beginner when it comes to programming and need some guidance please.

Cheers

jluciani

Aug 19, 2009, 03:04 pm Last Edit: Aug 19, 2009, 03:16 pm by jluciani Reason: 1
You do not need to add time and date to each reading. Pick a date and time
and count the number of seconds since that point in time. This is called the epoch. Your
count will be in epoch seconds. Using a long integer (4 bytes) should give you
2 billion seconds. You convert back to YY-MM-DD HH:MM:SS when you display the data.

There should be a VB library for converting from epoch-seconds to date-time. If you
choose the same epoch your conversions will be easier.

(* jcl *)

razadams

Aug 19, 2009, 03:21 pm Last Edit: Aug 19, 2009, 03:22 pm by razadams Reason: 1