Nest thermostat HRV integration

I'm trying to assess the feasibility of a project I thought would be simple, but was wrong. First, I am completely new to micro controllers but have some hacking experience and am near the end of a project to integrate my Nest thermostats with a modulating boiler via a raspberry pi. That project (nest_odr) is on github but still a work in progress.

Now I want to setup one of my thermostats to control my Carrier HRV. I thought it would be a simple matter of attaching the thermostat to a couple of 24VAC relays to run the fan at low speed using the thermostat's fan timer function, and at high speed using the thermostat's dehumidifier function. But it isn't that simple. The HRV uses a wall controller and 4 wires to communicate with the control board on the HRV. The wall unit ultimate controls three relays in combination to control fan high and low speed, and damper to control fresh air vs. recirculating exchange. I have two options for controls:

Option 1: Brute Force. This option is to control the 120VAC fan and damper control wires via relays directly. It requires converting the 24VAC control voltage from the Nest to 12VDC to allow proper isolation of relays, but would basically duplicate the relays on the existing control board. There are two disadvantages of this option. One is that is involves household current which isn't a huge deal, but it's nice to do everything from the low voltage side if possible. The second is that it would defeat the unit's defrost cycle. The defrost cycle senses the incoming units air temperature and closes the damper to recirculate warm air to defrost the system as needed. The high voltage relays would be behind the unit's controller and therefore would keep the damper open regardless of temperature. So I will need to figure something out here if I go with this option.