Resettings Fuses And Lock Bits

I've been using Arduino for several years now and I'm just getting into the more hardcore aspects such as setting fuses and lock bits. I've done a lot of reading, but I'm still confused.

I'm sure this has been answered before, but here goes.

I'm working with 3.3V Pro Minis clocked at 8 MHz with the ATMega328p chips.

It looks like you can set the lock bits over the serial interface using AVRDUDE, but I'm not clear on a few things about what happens after that:

1. If flash read and write are both disabled, then you can't use SPI to read or write the flash. However, can the arduino boot loader still do it? Meaning, the boot loader could still be used to upload sketches. Some sources say no, some suggest yes. I don't want to brick an MCU finding out.

2. Once the lock bits are set, is the only way to clear them with the use of an additional device other than the FTDI breakout that I use to upload sketches? I.e. something like the USBtinyISP?

1 Like

It looks like you can set the lock bits over the serial interface using AVRDUDE,

No, you can only set the lock bits using the ISP interface and an external programmer. A bootloader CANNOT change the fuses or lock bits. (it might SAY that it has done so, for compatibility with programming SW. But it can't.)

If flash read and write are both disabled, then you can't use SPI to read or write the flash.

There are three sets of "lock bits." One controls access by the programming interface, one controls programatic access to the bootloader section, and one controls programatic access to the applications section. The way I read the documentation, the bootloader would work even if the SPI access is disabled. But you probably need to risk a chip to be sure...

There's another fuse that disables SPI programming, which would mean that you would need to connect the chip to a High Voltage Parallel Programmer in order to erase it.

1 Like

westfw: