Go Down

Topic: Muxing 8 ultra sonic sensors (Read 5476 times) previous topic - next topic

tamirsagi

Jan 30, 2016, 03:27 am Last Edit: Jan 30, 2016, 03:34 am by tamirsagi
Hi all,

I'm working on a project where I need to sense the environment. I use Arduino Mega, Motor Shield(L293D) which is connected to it.
Im gonna be using 8 Ultra Sonic sensors, model : HC-SR04. however, i dont have enough available ports for all sensors  so I ordered Multiplexer, CD74HC4067.

I'd like to connect 8 sensors to the multiplexer and get the data when needed.
my problem is:
1. I'm new to Arduino.
2. first time working with sensors
3. this specific sensor has 4 legs,  I dont know how to connect 8 sensors to the multiplexer
4 I dont know how to connect the mux to the Arduino.(which ports)

as I mentioned, I already installed Motor Shield for both DC and Servo motors.

I found these tutorials :

Muxing + Arduino

arduino-hc-sr04-sensor-through-cd74hc4051e-multiplexer-using-single-wire

interfacing-multiple-ultrasonic-sensor-arduino

connecting-multiple-ultrasonic-sensors-to-one-arduino

hc-sr04-using-multiple-ultrasonic

Thanks alot!!

Grumpy_Mike

5) you ordered the chip without asking anyone here if it would work.

Sadly it won't because you need a dual 8 channel multiplexer not a 16 channel one.

The ultrasonic sensor has two power pins, which can be common with all the sensors and two signal pins which multiplexing.

PaulRB

Jan 30, 2016, 08:25 am Last Edit: Jan 31, 2016, 01:02 am by PaulRB
I think it could work. However, for 8 sensors, the 4067 (16-way) was a waste because a 4051 (8-way) would have been enough. For that matter, why use a multiplexer at all? Your Mega has lots of pins! Using the multiplexer will use 4 Arduino digital pins. Not using a multiplexer would use only 8 digital pins.