Go Down

Topic: Arduino due digital pins programming. (Read 5454 times) previous topic - next topic

EJLED

Hi, friends.

i am new to arduino due, i have around 40 digital inputs, i want to access 32 bit on single clock.

i am planning to use 40 pins of arduino due among 54 pins.  and want code that can access all 32 pins in single clock. i do not want to use SPI or any other communication protocol.

How can i do it...? can all 54 pins serve as digital input, and can it read 32 digital signal on single clock cyle..?

kindly help me.

thanks.

DVDdoug

FYI - There is a sub-forum for the Due.

It should be possible  but I've never used the Due and I don't know how to do it.   (I know there are port commands that allow you to read 8 bits with the regular Arduino.)

It is a 32-bit processor and the datasheet for the chip says:
Up to six 32-bit Parallel Input/Outputs (PIO)

cattledog

Feb 05, 2016, 06:47 pm Last Edit: Feb 05, 2016, 06:48 pm by cattledog
code that can access all 32 pins in single clock
No.

If you take a look at the Due pin out information you will see that there is no port with a complete breakout of 32 pins.

You may be able to find 32 pins which can be read with two or three reads across several ports, but they may not be completely adjacent within the port, and you might need to perform some masking and shifting to isolate what you need.

You will need to define your pins and the the port read and selection code before before you can determine the exact number of clock cycles.

I agree with DVDdoug, that you might be better off in the Due section of the forum.

EJLED

Thank you so much DVDdoug and cattledog, I have already posted the same question http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=376827.0 on ARDUINO DUE forum.

Thank you once again. i will look the datasheet and then move further. if any one have done this kindly help me if possible.

Thanks

westfw