Go Down

Topic: 12v DC Electromagnetic lock control  (Read 2727 times) previous topic - next topic

Arbiter472

Hi guys,

I'm new to the world of Arduino and require just a little bit of help in how to operate a 12v DC electromagnetic lock.
The lock i wish to use is as follows:
https://www.robotics.org.za/index.php?route=product/product&path=25_228&product_id=582

I need a little help with how to connect it to my Arduino and ultimately operate it. What other parts would i need to connect this up such as relays etc. I have come across posts suggesting transistors used with other model/higher voltage locks, but I have very little experience with them. That being said I am very willing to learn so any way forward to post and other information on dealing with such locks is greatly appreciated. The rest of the project in terms of RFID capture and validation is sound; its just the control system that is somewhat a grey area for me at the moment.

Thanks in advance, its much appreciate!

Galiphat_1G

You have a couple options, but the simplest one would be to use a 5v relay (The signal voltage is 5v, the output has to be 12v and at least a 1A capacity). Amazon has them by the bucket load.

Then you simply hook the input of the relay to the arduino (Should be 3 pins Signal, Ground, And Power). And hook the other end up to your 12v power supply and lock.

MarkT

Just a logic level MOSFET with 150 ohm gate resistor and 10k gate-source resistor.  Its a solenoid, so
you need a free-wheel diode across the terminals too.   Look up the standard relay driving circuit in
the Playground.

There's little point driving a relay to drive another coil, do it on one step! 

Remember _logic-level_ n-channel MOSFET, on-resistance 0.1 ohms or less is fine, 20V rated or more
[ I will NOT respond to personal messages, I WILL delete them, use the forum please ]

Arbiter472