Arduino Uno R3: Stuck at 'Uploading...' (mac)

Hello,

Although I am a software developer, I am new to the arduino world. I have recently purchased an arduino UNO R3 from adafruit. After installing the latest software from the arduino website (1.6.7) I am encountering the following problem:

I simply cannot upload anything on the arduino uno from my mac (El Capitan). The sketches compile just fine but when I hit the upload button it simply goes on forever. I have also noticed that when I open the activity monitor utility, the kernel_task is way above 120%

And yes, I did select the correct board (Arduino/Genuino UNO). Also, the serial ports available to me are: /dev/cu.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port and /dev/cu.usbmodem1A21

The arduino works perfectly fine since I was able to plug it and play on my girlfreind's mac. The only difference I noticed is that her serial port differs from mine. Her port is /dev/cu.usbmodem641.

Any idea?
Thanks a lot!

Anyone?

Only thing I can suggest is to install an earlier version, 1.6.5 is the most stable right now.

I tried that but still the same.

I have just connected the Arduino to another mac (El Capitan) and it worked fine. Since the Arduino works on other macs running El Capitan I think the problem has to do with my old macbook pro (early 2008), which also runs El Capitan.

I have also checked for other programs running in the background that might interfere with the serial port used by the Arduino without success. When I hit the upload button it seems as if an infinite loop runs in the background, which makes the kernel_task to go up a lot. The orange upload button is stuck and not responding.

I am running out of ideas.

Thanks!

I had the problem you described with my 2008 MacBook Pro running El Capitan.
After some research online I solved the problem by connecting the Arduino board to a powered USB hub.