ShiftRegLCD lib (LiquidCrystal 3-wire replacement)

Hi!

I managed to put together a library for connecting a LCD with 3 wires from an Arduino. It is basically the same as the LiquidCrystal library, which it is pretty much based on (almost verbatim :stuck_out_tongue: ) It's just tweaked to work with a shift register. I used 74LS164, since that's what I had. It's not a fancy shiftregister (no tristate nor latching etc.), so I kept the Enable-pin on the Arduino. Thus using three pins from the Arduino. Basically any shiftregister should do.

I'm pretty new to the Arduino, but I have dabbled a little in both electronics and C++ before. But not much, this is the first class or library I've written for C++. Or very C++ like language.

The Morse-tutorial was great, as well as looking into the LiquidCrystal library. It's still a couple of things that seems strange to me in that one, but I finally got the inheritance - I think. The this->write(b); isn't too intuitive. But I think I get it, "this" points to the library who inherits the print-library, and so the write()-function that is used is from that library (LiquidCrystal::write(), for instance). The write() function needs to be declared "virtual" in the header file for this to work.
And there is a strange way of assigning the class instance's global variables in the constructor, the _enable_pin(enable) before the curly parenthesis (I didn't get it to work like that in my version, but I followed the Morse tutorial for that instead).

Since I had an old HD44780 LCD display, I wanted to connect it to the Arduino. Like most of us it seems, so this might be a bit like reinventing the wheel for the n'th time. But I hope this might be useful for some anyway. Plus I learned a bit about classes and libraries in C++ :slight_smile: