Go Down

Topic: My project (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

danielsz

So, I'm a Product Design student, looking to create a musical instrument for physically disabled people, in the end it will be a standalone instrument, speakers and all.

The basis of this is with the sensors, and the output. I believe that using distance sensors is the easiest way for someone of my technical background (ie none). I have basically no experience of Arduino or C++, but have bought some of the parts necessary for my project.

at this moment in my project, I need 3 HC-SR04 ultrasonic sensors to output different notes depending on the ping distance that the sensor reads, I'm assuming I need something like this:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Adafruit-Music-Maker-Shield-Arduino/dp/B00OKCPE50/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1456502369&sr=8-2&keywords=arduino+mp3+shield.

Now as far as my knowledge of the way Arduino and C++ works, is that I need the code to lookup (for instance) the note assigned to 18cm, then play that mp3 file through the speaker. Now my issue is, that I can't find a single resource on the coding for this.

I haven't purchased the shield or speaker yet, but I have enough wires, resistors, a handful of LEDs, 5 HC-SR04s and my Uno.

I've got a simple set up showing that my sensor works, using default ping code, but as you can tell, I need something far more complicated, and the rough prototype is due in just over a week. If anyone can point me to helpful resources, that would be much appreciated.

I live in the South East of the UK (not sure I'm in the right place for this) but if someone feels they could help out IN PERSON, I'd be okay to get together and brainstorm, throw a few ideas around, thought I'd be able to figure this out myself, but it's not looking good.

Grumpy_Mike