Go Down

Topic: Attiny85 Password Manager with arduino bootloader (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

27sharp

Hello,

I'm new to arduino and have a question.

I have seen this tutorial: http://codeandlife.com/2012/03/03/diy-usb-password-generator/#more-305

And want also make it, but I need an Atmel programmer for it. Is that right?

But I have not a programmer, so I considered that I build this with an arduino bootloader and so write the program with arduino IDE.

Is that possible?

Dr_Ugi

If you have an Arduino board then you can use that as an ISP programmer using the Arduino ISP sketch.

You can also use the Arduino IDE for writing your program if you use arduino-tiny (https://code.google.com/archive/p/arduino-tiny/)

The one thing that I don't think you can do is have an actual bootloader on the ATtiny.  It doesn't have hardware UART or the facility to run a bootloader on reset as far as I know.  However that doesn't stop you using the Arduino IDE.  You just use your Arduino board as the programmer.

Ugi

27sharp

Mar 09, 2016, 09:21 am Last Edit: Mar 09, 2016, 09:29 am by 27sharp
Thank you for your reply.

Means that I can run the code of the tutorials or rewrite the code for arduino?

My goal is to create a password generator like in the tutorial.

Dr_Ugi

OK - I misunderstood slightly, but I think the idea is the same.  I thought you were intending to write a project in the Arduino IDE based upon the linked project.  You could do that and use your Arduino as ISP.