Go Down

Topic: LED mills problem...probably something stupid..but I'm stumped..please help :) (Read 491 times) previous topic - next topic

andigoodman

Hi...i'm new to arduino and programming but loving learning about it. So i got to the point where i asked the question "how do you get 2 loops working at the same time" and found the answer is you can't...probably best to use mills() to call functions...so thats where i'm at.

Im using fastLed to control a string of meds and where i'm heading is to create some kind of random rainfall effect....but i'm stumped early on.

rred is a random number (this works) and defines an LED...what is supposed to happen is that if rred>fromred, the loop is entered...this works as "mid" appears on the serial monitor. the line in red is where i'm stuck...if it's off (Black) then that part of the loop should be entered and if the time criteria is met then it goes red...this condition fails as the light does not turn red and mid1 never appears in the serial monitor...it carries on to the next part and mid2 appear in the monitor.

I know the code is scrappy but i have used this condition before to check the colour of an led and it has worked...i've even tried forcing it to black earlier in the loop to ensure the led wasn't in some undefined colour but no joy...

can anyone help...hope I've provided enough information :)

if (rred>fromred)  {

Serial.println("mid");
                if ( leds[rred]= CRGB::Black) {
Serial.println("mid1");

if (currentMillis - previousred_Millis >1) {
                                                  leds[rred-1] = CRGB :: Red;
                                                  FastLED.show();
                                                  delay(5000);
                                                  previousred_Millis += led_red_Interval;
                                                                                             }
                                                  }