Go Down

Topic: Circuit Confirmation (Read 757 times) previous topic - next topic

Arbiter472

Hi guys,

I am designing a paintball marker and have ironed out this circuit design. I just want to be sure if this is likely to work, or where it should be altered/improved. I am new to circuit design so chances are there is a flaw or two, hence this post.

Below is the circuit design of my project so far.

The push buttons to be used for menu and safety are using 220 ohm pull down resistors. The MOSFET uses a 10k ohm pull down between the gate and the ground to prevent floating of the Gate when its not activated -is this 10k resistor adequate or should I rather use another value?

The Solenoid gets its power from the 5v pin of the Nano. This is where I had a bout of self questioning. Should I rather connect the Solenoid directly to the + of the 9v battery with a resistor to bring the current down, or is leaving it connected to the 5v pin of the Nano ok?

The diode I incorporated to prevent the back flow of current when the solenoid is no longer activated from damaging the MOSFET and other components.

If you could please let me know if the above will work or where I can improve the design, I'd really appreciate it.
Thanks in advance guys.

DrDiettrich

Please supply a circuit diagram.

A 9V block battery is not a good choice for driving a solenoid, use a more powerful battery/supply.

CrossRoads

Don't drive solenoid from the Nano's regulator, you'll smoke the regulator, it's not heatsinked well enough to provide more than maybe 100, 150mA.
http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/texas-instruments/UA78M05CDCYR/296-12290-1-ND/416584

Buttons: wire them to connect the pin to Gnd when pressed, and use the internal pullup resistors on the '328P chip instead:
Code: [Select]

pinMode (pinX, INPUT_PULLUP);
and then
if (digitalRead(pinX) == LOW){
// button pressed, do something
}
or
buttonStateX = digitalRead(pinX);
if (buttonStateX == LOW){
}