Go Down

Topic: How do I wire three i2c inerface devices together? (With separate power sources) (Read 793 times) previous topic - next topic

john09121

I'm new to I2c, and I have a sort of weird setup. Not sure how to wire these together:

I have 1 master arduino mega with its own power source, 1 slave arduino uno with its own power source, and a barometric pressure sensor. I want the uno and the pressure sensor to communicate with the mega through I2c.

How do I wire this together? When I connect all of the SCL and SDA wires together, the pressure sensor stops working.

The Mega and the Uno share a common ground. Is it a problem that they have separate power supplies?

Thanks in advance!

septillion

Connect all GND's together, connect all SCL's together and connect all SDA's together => Done!

Be sure to use the Uno as a slave with a different address. And don't use long cables...
Use fricking code tags!!!!
I want x => I would like x, I need help => I would like help, Need fast => Go and pay someone to do the job...

NEW Library to make fading leds a piece of cake
https://github.com/septillion-git/FadeLed

Coding Badly

john09121

Connect all GND's together, connect all SCL's together and connect all SDA's together => Done!

Be sure to use the Uno as a slave with a different address. And don't use long cables...
I have that exact setup, and it doesn't work :( The pressure sensor just won't work unless it's the only thing plugged into SDA and SCL.

How long is a "long" cable, and why would that affect things?

john09121

alnath

did you put pull-up resistors on SDA and SCL ?
if not, you should give it a try  (4k7 between +5v and SDA and 4k7 between +5V and SCL )

Did you try an i2c scanner to make sure the Uno and the sensor actually have different adresses and are both recognized ?

septillion