Go Down

Topic: A motorbike gear position inidcator for R1 powered classic mini (Read 656 times) previous topic - next topic

Luke-H

Hello everyone.

I've been playing around with Arduino for a few months now and I thought I would share my most recent little project which is a gear position indicator for my classic mini that I am installing a Yamaha R1 engine into.

The main aim of this project was to produce something that would be in-keeping with the overall classic look of a 60's mini. I have a late model Cooper but I am retro styling it including converting to the classic center speedo. This guage will be mounted in the center oval binnacle along with my custom speedo I have created.

Apart from needing to adjust the number alignment and packaging the Arduino and input circuits into something suitable, it is pretty much complete.

Here is a video of it in action - Smiths Mini Gear Position Indicator

I have used the debounce2 library to debounce the inputs to avoid erratic readings of each gear change. My prototype is using a couple of push switches but the finial version will use reed switches, possibly hall effect if the reed switches don't work as expected.

One of the problems I encountered with the cheap sh1106 OLED purchased on ebay was the availability of a library. I opted for the MicroLCD library but it's font handling isn't great so I ended up creating monochrome bitmaps for each output and I use the draw function to display the hex. This allowed greater choice of font and size.

I have added startup logic to sense neutral and prompt to select in case I kill the engine in gear. This will ensure the gear selection will also be in the correct sequence as it effectively calibrates each time I turn the ignition on.

I have also ensured that only 1st and 6th will be displayed if I accidentally grab another gear change when I am already in the min/max gear. available.