Go Down

Topic: Absolute Beginner - Need help with selecting motor for winch system (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

vijaykalyan

I have a contraption designed, and one of the steps requires a weight of about 1kg to be lifted at a controllable speed of 1-5 m/s, max height is 5m.

The initial plan was to glue a spool to a cheap Hi Speed DC Motor that I found in a robotics kit. The following are its specifications:

Voltage  Range 3.0-12V
Rated voltage   9V
No load speed   20160RPM
No load current  680MA
Maximum current    3.8A
Rated torque     600G.CM
Rated Power     20W
Starting torque  1000G.CM
Size
Diameter 27.7MM, length 38MM, shaft diameter 2.3MM, axial length 12.7MM

I also have a NEMA 17 stepper motor in the kit.

FYI I am a total beginner and don't have a good understanding of what these mean.

I require the position of the weight must be accurate to the cm scale. So I thought of using the stepper motor, but I read that they are inefficient and cannot hold onto the weight in a no-power state. And I read that DC motors are inaccurate. So I'm really confused right now on what I must do.

I'd really appreciate if anyone could help me out in a detailed solution. Thanks in advance.

Henradrie

I don't think a cheap high speed DC motor is the way to go. You can't get the positional accuracy you need for your project without an encoder or some other way to measure the position of the weight. Integrating those things together will require lots of programming and probably implementing some kind of PID control scheme. That would be a lot of hassle.