Go Down

Topic: split charge auto batteries - voltage sense with separate grounds (Read 619 times) previous topic - next topic

Luke-H

Hi

Sorry if what I am going to ask is obvious to the experienced people. I am fairly new to Arduino's and my electronics knowledge is average.

I am installing a R1 motorbike in a classic mini and I will have a split charge battery system. The bike engine will have it's own battery and wiring loom and the car will have it's own battery and wiring loom.

I have built a prototype gear position indicator for the bike engine using an Arduino which will be powered by the car battery system. The problem is that I need to sense neutral of the bike engine which is indicated by a wire on the bike loom going to near 12v of the bike battery.

I have built a voltage divider to bring the 12v down to a safer ~5v for the Arduino input pin however I would like to know if I can have the voltage divider using a separate ground to the Arduino ground.

Here are a couple of schematics I've put together to better illustrate my point.

Option 1 - separate grounds

Option 2 - using the Arduino ground.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Luke.

jremington

In order to make a measurement, the grounds all have to be connected. Ground provides the zero voltage reference.

bluejets

Diagram 2 would be the accepted norm.
Just one problem is you have shown the input to the voltage divider as a negative 12V and that is incorrect.

jremington

Diagram 2 would be the accepted norm.
Just to clarify, the diagram labeled "neutral_sense_schematic_2.png" will not work.

Luke-H

Thanks jremington and bluejets.

I made a typo with the negative 12v input. It will be positive.

Will i risk introducing potential issues if I connect grounds together from both wiring looms or is this safe to do so?