Go Down

Topic: testing the VS1003/VS1053 MP3 Decoder Board (Read 8355 times) previous topic - next topic

ms2000

Hello, i am new to arduino stuff,
i bought this board this is the EXACT model:

BOARD IMAGE

from china and i cannot even figure out if it will output ANYTHING,
my original application is to use it as an 
INTERNET RADIO STREAMER but at this point i would be happy to even hear a BIP sound as an output
dont even know which P.L connector is line out and or line in.

i dug up the forum and the googled many combinations but seems that i cannot find a simple thing,
a woking SIMPLE SKETCH, that will test the MP3 output of this module, and confirm that the board is working or defective, ALONG with a proper PIN connection diagram for arduino UNO

i have several concerns,
does this board require any protection on its input/output pins?
can it be damaged by being connected to PIN13 > SCLCK and accidentally runing an old "flash the LED" program that outputs "full power" on this pin?

THANX FOR ALL HELPERS.

i think arduino is a very useful tool when it comes to some kind of automation,
wish things would be more clear on the manufacturers side...

ms2000

can anyone please help and write a simple sketch that will output a signal to this board along with the proper pin connections?

thanx in advance for the expert that helps!

zoomx

I didn'own such board but I find this library
https://github.com/andykarpov/VS1003
wich example has an mp3 embedded.
The there is that page also
http://www.electrodragon.com/w/VS1003_(1053)_MP3_Dev._Module
with connectiona and one example but I don't know if the board is the same. The pin names must be identical anyway.

ms2000

May 14, 2016, 12:26 am Last Edit: May 14, 2016, 12:33 am by ms2000
Thanx, unfortunately BOTH tests did not work for this mp3 board,

i managed to get in to the code a bit and resolved a minor bug,
the chip did not switch to MP3 "mode" so there was no output.

now the internet radio works great,