Go Down

Topic: Visual Basic, Firmata and Arduino (Read 3223 times) previous topic - next topic

Ybot900

Hi,

I am relatively new to Ardiuno but can code reasonably well in VB.net, so was wondering if it would be possible to send commands to the Arduino using Visual Basic.

Looking around, I found FirmataVB and added it to Visual Studio, but still can't get the example application (or anything else for that matter) to work.

Could someone please list the steps I need to get this working, or, if possible, a more simple application I could use to get me started.

Thanks in advance,
Toby

Coding Badly

Hi,

Greetings.

I am relatively new to Ardiuno but can code reasonably well in VB.net, so was wondering if it would be possible to send commands to the Arduino using Visual Basic.

Yes.

Could someone please list the steps I need to get this working, or, if possible, a more simple application I could use to get me started.

Open serial port.  Set baud rate.  Send data.  Receive data.

The Arduino is presented to the computer as a serial port.

Ybot900

Thanks for the fast reply, but I'm in need of a little more detail!

First of all, what do I need to upload to the Arduino.

Secondly, what imports do I need within Visual Basic

Thirdly, what is the VB code for setting baud rate etc.

Also, perhaps it would help if I explained my project a little.

I have a cheap RC car which is controlled using buttons pressed by the user. I want to simulate a button press using the Arduino and interface it in Visual Basic, so I can control it using the keyboard or a UI.

Thanks again.

Coding Badly

I can't help with the Visual Basic questions.

Ybot900

Okay, thanks.

Do you know how I would set up the Arduino for use with Firmata?

Thanks

billroy

You might consider Bitlash as an alternative.  It is available for download at http://bitlash.net