Go Down

Topic: led strip remains on (Read 2873 times) previous topic - next topic

bricoleboy91

May 30, 2016, 10:47 pm Last Edit: May 30, 2016, 10:58 pm by bricoleboy91
Hi all,

I am new to arduino and electronic !!!
I have a white led strip with a 12V power supply.
I have a MOSFET that I want to control from my arduino to turn on/off my led strip with various intensity.
So I did the following :
- 12V+ is connected to led strip +
- left pin of MOSFET is connected to analog pin 5 of arduino.
- middle pin of MOSFET is connected to led strip -
- right pin of MOSFET is connected to ground of arduino
- 12V- is connected to ground of arduino.

I wrote a sketch which does analogWrite(5, 150) and then analogWrite(5,0) to turn on then turn off my led strip.
Everything works properly except that when I turn off the led strip it always remain lighted a little.
I assume that I should put a pull-down resistance but I didn't understand where.
Could you please help me?
Thanks a lot.

Grumpy_Mike

It is hard to say what your connections are from this photo.

What sort of mosfet is it, the pinout can change with different devices.

It is normal to include a 10K resistor between the gate of the mosfet and ground.

bricoleboy91

Hi,

I have uploaded a new picture with some labels to better explain.
My MOSFET is :
Mosfet STMicroelectronics STP16NF06L Canal N box type TO-220AB I(D) 16 A U(DS) 60 V.
It does not appear on the picture but I already tried to add a 10K resistor between gate and ground.
Thank you.

larryd

What is the output voltage on pin 5 when it is off?
Have you tried another MOSFET?

I wrote a sketch
Also a good idea to show us the sketch ;)

Use the </> icon in the posting menu to paste your code.
[code ]code goes here[/code ]

No technical PMs.
If you are asked a question, please respond with an answer.
If you are asked for more information, please supply it.
If you need clarification, ask for help.

bricoleboy91

Hi,