Go Down

Topic: RTC single digit 7-segment display clock  (Read 236 times) previous topic - next topic

JRUSCH

Hello,
I'm relatively new to Arduino and microcontrollers in general. Currently I'm studying Robotics and Embedded systems and the current course I am in is requiring a project that I've been working on for a bit. I would like to turn in a finished functional product, but I'm having issues sorting everything out. I have about 2 weeks from today to finish up and turn in the assignment. It doesn't necessarily have to work as this is an exercise in creative thinking/RSA. But, I would like to prove success if possible.

I'm attempting to create a single digit clock and using a secondary RGB LED with color indicating place of the digit in a HH:MM time format.

I've got both the 7-segment and LED working.

I'm using a datalogger/RTC shield from adafruit to attempt to get the RTC time. But, I'm having a problem getting the time from the RTC (PCF8523) and displaying that to the 7 -segment. The current sketch I have I am able to do a count up/down. But I guess I'm unclear as to how to code the correct function to get the time and display it to the seven segment. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Paul__B

I'm attempting to create a single digit clock and using a secondary RGB LED with color indicating place of the digit in a HH:MM time format.
Hmmm.  Sounds somewhat uninspiring but nevertheless!

OK, let's get going.  We will agree not to give you code because it is your assignment, but will make suggestions on your code.

So, we need the circuit diagram (but note many people here are allergic to "Fritzing" diagrams and want proper schematics  :smiley-lol: ).  And we need your working code regarding getting "both the 7-segment and LED working" and your non-working code, posted according to the forum instructions.