how to capture digital T.V signal

Hi !

i want to capturing all digital T.V signals at the same time and then doing some signal processing works with Matlab on them !

i am a software engineer and i don't know any thing about hardware! any one know what should i do ?

i mean for example we have 10 channels and i want to capture all these 10 channel signals and then using these signals as an input for an Matlab code and doing some signal processing on them.

thanks

Hi mafia_ir,

Iassumewhat you are trying to do is to capture the digital signals, write them to a file that can be accessed by matlab.

I'm afraid a mere Arduino won't have enough horsepower this task.

Have you considered using an FPGA and writing some VHDL code?

Pat.

Not only will an arduino not be able to do this, but I believe that a digital tv tuner will not be able to capture " all digital T.V signals at the same time". Not even close. The amount of data you are talking about here is rather a lot and you will need some serious power for matlab to be able to even load the data, let alone process it.

According to wikipedia

Each commercial broadcasting terrestrial television DTV channel in North America is permitted to be broadcast at a bit rate up to 19 megabits per second.

How many channels were you thinking of capturing "at the same time"? A dozen? That's a quarter of a gigabit per second. To think that a single-threaded 16Mhz processor could deal with this is to have a seriously wrong idea about the scale of what you are asking. You might as well be asking for a car jack that can move a railway bridge.

What are you actually trying to do?

You know 10 channels are on 10 different frequencies? You will need 10 tuners to bring in those different frequencies.