Go Down

Topic: Powering Portable Led Strips (Read 2119 times) previous topic - next topic

snoche

Hi guys,

I am new to this world of arduino and this is my first post, I finally realized I need professional advices hehe, sorry if I say something stupid, still learning.

I am making a cylindrical car and I have attached 180 leds WS212B.
The leds alone uses 50W (10.8A) and I will need 4 motors too and some sensor too.

I have been looking a lot about powering this but I am still very confused.  :smiley-confuse:

Which of this makes more sense for you to use as a power supply?

- A Lipoly 3.7 battery with a step up module to 5v,
- 4 battery NiMh (4,8v). This will give me enought current for the leds?
- 2 LiFePO A123 batteries (6.6v) and use them to power Arduino directly and a step down or a diode to power the leds.

Do you think I should have different power supply for arduino and the leds?
What is better to use a step up module or step down? or I should avoid them at all?

Could you guys recommend me too a good charger for Lipo, LiFePO?

Thank you very much,
David

INTP

Check your math or check your plans. No way should you even be thinking about a 3.7V lipo giving you 10+Amps.

Grumpy_Mike

You can't get a step up regulator to give you 10A, well not one you could afford. It also means you are drawing over 10A on the input from your battery. The whole project sounds unrealistic.

PaulRB

Sep 25, 2016, 10:19 am Last Edit: Sep 25, 2016, 10:38 am by PaulRB
That 10.8A is the maximum when all leds in the strip are at full brightness white. But, for example, if only one led in three is on at any instant, showing red, green or blue at 33% brightness, the total current will be 10.8 x 1/3 x 1/3 x 1/3 = 0.4A. So by using flashing patterns, using reduced brightness etc. you can greatly reduce the demand on your batteries.