Go Down

Topic: Arduino nano blows up with 12v used for VIN (Read 18335 times) previous topic - next topic

Tim734

I have an arduino nano powered by a 12v battery. I have blown up 2 of these arduinos at random times after working hundreds of times. It is strange. Can someone please tell me what i am doing wrong or how to fix it. Thanks

INTP

What is this 12V source? What kind of battery?

sterretje

Anything else connected? If so what and how?

Schematic diagram (photo/scan of handdrawn one if needed) please.
If you understand an example, use it.
If you don't understand an example, don't use it.

Electronics engineer by trade, software engineer by profession. Trying to get back into electronics after 15 years absence.

cmiyc

Oct 02, 2016, 08:01 pm Last Edit: Oct 02, 2016, 08:02 pm by James C4S
What are you defining as "blow up"? The only detail you are providing is 12V in, which may have nothing to do with the behavior.
Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

Tim734

The type of battery I am using is attached. I have connected a remote relay to the arduino to trigger a actuator. The part of the arduino which started smoking is also attached. Can someone please explain what part of the arduino this is as it may help me understand why it 'blew up'. Thanks

INTP

Oct 03, 2016, 02:10 am Last Edit: Oct 03, 2016, 02:14 am by INTP
Battery spec

"Cycle:
• Voltage 14.40V~15.00V
Standby:
• Voltage 13.5V~13.80V "

The part that popped is the voltage regulator (which can be replaced, AMS1117 5.0v of the same package). 15V is absolute max on the regulator, cheaper parts won't handle that range well.

Probably didn't help any that you possibly were drawing far too much current if you don't have the relay powered separately from the Arduino.

sterretje

Which relay (link please)? How connected (diagram please).