Go Down

Topic: can an Arduino be used as an active audio equalizer? (Read 9312 times) previous topic - next topic

PNO3

As a learning exercise, I wanted to build a system that would take analog audio, convert it into a digital signal, preform audio equalizer functions, then convert it back to analog and feed it into an amplifier. I have built analog equalizers before, much like the one on:
 (http://www.eleccircuit.com/5-channel-graphic-equalizer-by-bc548-transistor/) 
I now wish do preform the same function digitally however. My first question, is this possible to do on an Arduino? I have never used an Arduino before, and am not sure if they have enough power for this kind of task. I have done some research and found that most models of Arduino only have 10 bit ADC. I have found pages like this one :(https://www.adafruit.com/products/1085)
that build external ADC cards that work with Arduino, are these cards better for this taks? It also appears that there is a big difference in power between different Arduino models. The Arduino Due runs a 32 bit 82 MHz processor, while the Arduino ZERO runs a 32-bit 48 MHz processor, so Is there a specific Arduino that is most suited to the job?

DVDdoug

I'm not sure...   I'd look for something else...   Most Arduino's don't have a DAC.

You might try a Raspberry Pi.   It's got a "soundcard".    And, with an operating system it should be easier to program (although a multitasking operating system means you need buffers which add delay).

There are also specialized DSP chips, but I don't know how easy it is to find a hobbyist-friendly one.

PNO3

I'm not sure...   I'd look for something else...   Most Arduino's don't have a DAC.

You might try a Raspberry Pi.   It's got a "soundcard".    And, with an operating system it should be easier to program (although a multitasking operating system means you need buffers which add delay).