Go Down

Topic: Distress Beacon for Search and Rescue bot (Read 664 times) previous topic - next topic

kdawg10

Hello all,

I'm trying to build an autonomous search and rescue robot that finds its target via a compact distress beacon that someone would turn on in the event they ever got lost. The plan here is to have the beacon output a radio signal (for long range) that the robot can recognize and then try to get closer to, by using a variety of ultrasonic sensors, limit switches, etc. The problem is that I'm new to this whole arduino/radio communication situation. If anyone could help me get started and give me some pointers on this goal, that would be much appreciated.

PaulS

then try to get closer to, by using a variety of ultrasonic sensors
I can not imagine how an ultrasonic sensor (how close is there something in front of me?) is going to be useful to find some specific object/person in some unknown location.

limit switches, etc.
Another useless piece of equipment. Stopping because you hit something is not how you are going to find a lost hiker.

The problem is that I'm new to this whole arduino/radio communication situation.
The problem is that you haven't a clue how to find a beacon that is sending a signal. Nothing you have suggested is even close to useful.

The art of getting good answers lies in asking good questions.

kdawg10