Go Down

Topic: Saving a variable with EEPROM (Read 510 times) previous topic - next topic

woujer

Hello i came across a little problem i'm making a thermostat and the variable i use for the temperature i set has to be saved. So when the power turns of and it gets back up the set variable is the same as when he got turned off. Right now it just goes back to 0°C evrytime. I have been searching for a solution for this problem but most of the solutions i came across are just not working or they are just way to complicated. I hope someone can help me would be mutch help! I'm a still a student so explanation with the solution would be appriciated.

Kind regards Woujer

TolpuddleSartre

Use the EEPROM.
If you haven't changed the current set point for , say, thirty seconds, save the value to EEPROM.
Read EEPROM in setup() to recover the set point.
Be careful that you do not write to EEPROM too frequently or you will wear it out.

sterretje

eeprom.put and eeprom.get can be used so you don't have to worry about the size of the variable.

eeprom.put also has the advantage that it first checks if the value has changed and hence does not put extra strain on the eeprom cells.
If you understand an example, use it.
If you don't understand an example, don't use it.

Electronics engineer by trade, software engineer by profession. Trying to get back into electronics after 15 years absence.

woujer

eeprom.put and eeprom.get can be used so you don't have to worry about the size of the variable.

eeprom.put also has the advantage that it first checks if the value has changed and hence does not put extra strain on the eeprom cells.
Hmm can't figure out how i can fix it i tried with put and get but still not a result it saves only the start variable that is 0°C.

TolpuddleSartre

How to fix what?
You haven't posted any code.

(You could ask a moderator to move this to an appropriate section of the forum)

Budvar10

It is very simple task: