Problem with Controll of my Function from inside the loop

The code is pasted below.

The platform is an Arduino Due, and I have modified the variant.h file to produce 20kHz PWM

I am new to programming, and this is only my second piece of code.

It generates a sawtooth voltage ramp by PWM on pin6, and an accompanying square wave pulse on pin7.

I transmit this PWM signal via Fiber optic cable, and then smooth it out with a low pass filter and opamp buffer. This is for a remote controll for a special kind of Tesla Coil.

The code is a long series of loops controlled by "if" filters, where the ramp is built up by calculating the amplitude relative to the time.

When I wrote the code, the ramp was generated inside the main loop, and it runs well and does what it should do.

You can see a demonstration of it here:

To be able to turn this ramp off and on, I then declared the contents as a function (void ramp () )
So that I could poll a switch inside the main loop and direct focus on to the ramp function, when I want it to output a ramp.

The switch is connected to pin12, hardware debounced with 2mS of clean signal transition.

This is the way the posted code looks like, but there are a couple of problems, I will start with the biggest first:

When I turn the switch off, the code gets interupted inside the execution of the function, you can see it on the attached photo, where yellow is the square wave on pin7, Magenta is the lowpassfiltered sawtooth wave, and Cyan is the switch.

This is what I don't understand, the switch is in the main loop, but it interferes with the execution of the ramp function.

The way I see it, the processor should complete the ramp function before it goes back to the main loop ( void loop ) and read the switch.

How can I prevent the switch from interfering with the execution of the ramp function in the midle of it?

I am at my wits end, and any pointers will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Finn Hammer