Go Down

Topic: 1D Printing. Need your advice (Build versus...) (Read 891 times) previous topic - next topic

wirelessguyny

Quick question for the group.

I'm (yet another guy) looking at developing an open-source 3D printing project. I've been through tons of firmware and hardware options but to be honest I find too much noise (and wasted code) which simply complicates the overall setup, config and maintenance.

If I were to suggest something truly simple (like moving to a 1D solution) would you...

(a) Write your new code from scratch

or

(b) Start with a base of an existing project and begin with a fork that strips out everything you don't require.

[Obviously I'm not a developer, so I'm interested in opinions from those with more experience than I have]

Qdeathstar

Nov 06, 2016, 06:33 am Last Edit: Nov 06, 2016, 06:34 am by Qdeathstar
It depends on your experience and requirements, but most slicers are able to slice a 2d object and without z-steppers a 3D printer becomes a 2d one rather quickly...
A creaking creeping shadow
stiff against the freezing fog
glares at a tickless watch.

Time has failed him -- all things shall pass.

pert

I'm having trouble imagining a 1D printer. Would it just extrude a single dot?

As for the firmware, since you don't consider yourself a developer, I don't think that either option will make your project less complex. However, writing your own simplified firmware would be a great learning experience even though you would likely eventually decide to switch to using one of the standard firmwares once you realize that much of that complex code is there for a good reason.

For example, this hand operated CNC plotter:
https://youtu.be/IPClUTfKB-o?t=4m29s
Is completely impractical but it would be great for teaching the basic concepts. You just write down the program on a piece of paper and then follow the steps, talk about some simplified firmware!

wirelessguyny