LED strip pulse/waterfall effect on input

I am fairly new to arduino coding, I can do a lot of the basics and have been experimenting with LED's, and have started with some addressable LED's. I have an idea for a project but am falling short on how to code one of the main effects I am looking for.
Basically, I want to send a pulse of LED's down the strip on an input, like a button push. So if the button is pushed, a group of like 3 LED's will light up and travel down the strip to the end and stop.
(Reference any waterfall or raindrop effect video here, theres a bunch but no access to codes)
I can find some code examples of the overall effect in a loop, but nothing for an input.

I plan to turn this into a new music reactive effect, with different frequencies of music sending a pulse of different colors down the strip, with a potentiometer to change the speed of the pulse ( like this video LED Strip trail effect - YouTube )

For reference, I am using an arduino uno and the basic addressable LED's with simply the data input, like the ws2812b's. Code examples would be most helpful, as I am better at editing code to meet my specifications than creating my own from scratch

Please help!

1 Like

Sounds easy enough. When the button is pressed, make the first theree leds the colour you want. Also have a "scroll" function which, every few milliseconds, performs a loop where it starts at the end of the strip and works back to the start, copying the colour of each led from the led before it.

Which library are you using? Adafruit or Fastled?

If you can get a sketch working that sets the first 3 leds based on a switch input, and post that, we can help with the scroll function. Use code tags when you post your sketch!

Okay so I am using the FastLED library and have gotten a pulse to go down the strip on a button push/input (sending voltage to pin 7 in my code) as posted below:

#include<FastLED.h>
#define NUM_LEDS 30

CRGBArray<NUM_LEDS> leds;
int INpin = 7;
int input = 0;