Go Down

Topic: Led strip looping design question (Read 622 times) previous topic - next topic

wsmithmusic

Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to programming and need some basic led design advice.  I have some individually addressable dotstar led strips (apa102) and I'm using an Uno with the FastLed library to control them.  I've figured out how to design and run individual looped programs that make pretty colors and patterns.  Now I want to run 3 or 4 of these loops a few times each sequentially in a larger loop.  What's the best way to do this? 

Thank you for your time.

PaulRB

Best way or quickest/easiest way?

It depends what you want to do next. Will there be interactions with buttons or commands from elsewhere? If not, you might as well go the quick/easy route. But if there will be interaction of some kind, you need to do it in a different way, and you may also have to re-write the code you have now, if you have used delay().

Post your code here, using code tags so your code looks like
Code: [Select]
this
and answer my question above.

INTP

Copy/paste will work pretty well.
To keep it a little neater, you could simply replace the word 'loop' in each of those patterns with a name so each one is a function you can call, then in the one loop you get, just call the functions in the order and number you want.

wsmithmusic

Here's my code.  There are no planned interactions with button or external commands.  It does 5 runs down the strip as blue then switches to white.  I assume I could add another for(int x; x > 10; x ++) statement and do something else with the strip, but I don't understand how to get back to the beginning of the loop.  Or if perhaps there is a more elegant way to do it.  Thanks.

Code: [Select]
  #include <FastLED.h>
    #define NUM_LEDS 150
    #define DATA_PIN 4
    #define CLOCK_PIN 5

CRGB leds[NUM_LEDS];

void setup() {
  FastLED.addLeds<APA102, DATA_PIN, CLOCK_PIN>(leds, NUM_LEDS); // put your setup code here, to run once:

}