Go Down

Topic: Logic 1 reads 4V ? (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Watcher

Dec 18, 2016, 10:16 am Last Edit: Dec 18, 2016, 10:17 am by Watcher
Consider this diagram :

When the PCF8574 outputs 1s, the voltage at its output reads 4V which then leads to about 0.9-1V at the output of the inverter (74HC04). This doesn't affect the operation of the darligton driver and the relays which operate as expected.

I only noticed this when connected some LEDs on OUT0-OUT5. The leds  dimly lit even when the relays are off (logic 0 at the output of the hex inverter).

I know this is pretty basic but I am puzzled why this is happening!

stowite

Dec 18, 2016, 10:40 am Last Edit: Dec 18, 2016, 10:41 am by stowite
Post withdrawn.

sterretje

When this happens, what does your Vcc read.
If you understand an example, use it.
If you don't understand an example, don't use it.

Electronics engineer by trade, software engineer by profession. Trying to get back into electronics after 15 years absence.

Zapro

The pins on the PCF8574 can only source 100 µA.

// Per.

Watcher

When this happens, what does your Vcc read.
Vcc is always 4.978V supplied from a 7805 regulator or from USB.

Watcher

The pins on the PCF8574 can only source 100 µA.
Correct. Thats why there are pullup resistors in the circuit. (10K)

outsider

OUT0 on the inverter or the ULN2803?

outsider

Check to see if there's a voltage difference between the ULN2803's ground and other ground points.

Southpark

Dec 18, 2016, 03:07 pm Last Edit: Dec 18, 2016, 06:16 pm by Southpark
Have you got decoupling capacitors close to your supply pins of ic's?

And are your ic's etc grounds all connected to the same 'gnd'?

Also... if the pcf8574 is configured for 'outputs'..... then external pullup resistors aren't required, right?

dlloyd