Go Down

Topic: Super Easy Noob Questions about Circuit (see pics inside) [Updated] (Read 733 times) previous topic - next topic

Synbro

Complete electronics noob here.  I have the following LED setup I pulled out of a USB hub that is super annoying.
'

So the simple questions:
1. Red = power, black = ground?
2. Why does something need to be grounded?
3. Is there anyway to tell, just from the picture the LED voltage and current requirements?
4. Why does the wiring that is closer to the LED look fatter?
5. What determines how wide/thick the wiring and the board is? (I assume it is an IV requirement but how would I go about calculating this?
6. How do I model this circuit on paper?
7. Since the power goes to both LEDs, are these in series or parallel and why does it matter?

Due_unto

Your pics don't show and your links come up as dangerous website - blocked.
1. Common practice, de facto standard. You won't be arrested if you use different colors.
2. Ground is the common reference and also the current source for circuits, hence Vss.
3. Usually not unless you can see the entire circuit.
4. Can't see the picture
5. Current determines wire size. How much you put on the board determines board size.
6. Start with one component, add connections and other components as observed on the board.
7. Unable to see circuit
Do not look into laser with remaining good eye.

Synbro

Thanks for the reply,

did you see the Imgur link - I updated the pictures.

CrossRoads

Probably. If not, switch them around. Got a 5V source? Connect a 270 to 1K resistor to +5, to red wire, then black wre to Gnd.

Electricity  needs to make a loop from positive to negative - otherwise there is no current flow.

3. Is there anyway to tell, just from the picture the LED voltage and current requirements?
No. But you can figure about 40mA max should be allowed to flow, and there will be ~2.5 to 3.5V across the LEDs.