Go Down

Topic: Warnings and invalid library errors (Read 392 times) previous topic - next topic

MacGyver1rjq104

This has happened on 3 of my computers using different versions of the arduino software.  I am a teacher and I need to learn this software in order to teach, so I took on a small home project to learn.  I tried installing libraries and boards and no problems at first.  Then I tried another project needing some new libraries and they won't install.  They say they are installing but then when I go back to them they don't say installed and they will allow me to try again but without success.  When I verify the program, I get these Warning: about the EEPROM, WIRE, etc.... and then I get invalid directory errors.  Sometimes it completed the compiling but had all the errors because I believe the #eeprom did not work and the program is incomplete. 

My fix..... On my personal computer, I reinstalled windows clean and then reinstalled the arduino software and it works perfect, however, I can't do this with my school computer.  I tried to uninstall the arduino software but it leaves behind all the stuff that causes the errors.

Does anyone know how I can fix this on my school computer?  Is there a way to get a 100% uninstall so I don't get my errors back?

Thank you much.  I need this perfect so I can teach it in PLTW DE.

AWOL

Sometimes it completed the compiling but had all the errors because I believe the #eeprom did not work
To the best of my knowledge, #eeprom is not a valid preprocessor directive, so no, it wouldn't work.

Can you provide some concrete examples, please?

SurfingDude

Similar things have happened to me, I diagnosed the problem as mixing older library versions with a newer Arduino IDE. What fixed it for me was to uninstall all the Arduino stuff and also delete everything under Appdata\Local\Arduino15 Nowadays I install Arduino via the .zip file rather than using the Windows Installer version.