Oscilloscope Recommendation

I am going to buy an oscilloscope and have tentatively decided on a Rigol. For approximately the same price Rigol makes a 2 channel, 100 MHz model ( DS 1102E) and a 4 channel, 50 MHz model (DS 1054Z).

It is a beginner scope and I am a beginner so I don't really know exactly what I will be using it for but I know it is time to learn about it.

So....2 channel 100 MHz or 4 channel 50 MHz?

I appreciate the advice.

I have the DS1052, 50Mhz 2 channel.

I rarely use the 2nd channel, and if I had a need for a 4 channel display of something I would probably be wanting to use a logic analyzer instead.

The DS1054Z actually has 100MHz hardware. You can find unlock codes online. I got one end of last year and am pretty happy with it. I haven't actually needed 4 channels yet, but could definitely imagine. I certainly used 2 channels with analog signals.

I just went through hell researching a good starter oscilloscope for myself. I can only afford a used one. I wanted a rigol, but i found a good deal on instek gds 1202. Its about the same as rigol, with lcd display and basic features.

I just bought 2 channel one. I rarely see anyone using 4 channel scope when i watch circuit tutorial videos.

4-channel comes into its own with more complex analog circuits, I've only had need when looking
at a 3-phase motor controller PWM signal, for instance, since there are 3 phases, but its a luxury
really. For logic analyzer looking at a parallel bus lots of channels is good, but for things like serial,
I2C, SPI, 4 channels is enough, so a 4-channel scope is perhaps useful as a substitute for a LA.

Note that many problems cannot be seen by a LA, a 'scope shows how messed up your signal
really is!

I vote 4-channel.