Go Down

Topic: 5V Arduino (Leonardo/Pro Micro) acting as a push button for a raspberry pi zero (Read 3310 times) previous topic - next topic

tinp

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Arduino, especially the circuitry part of it, so please forgive me if my question is stupid.

What I want to do is have my Arduino Pro Micro act as a push button for my pi in order to run a script on it under certain conditions.

It has come to my understanding that my Arduino operates exclusively on a 5V logic level, whereas the GPIO pins on the Pi operate on 3.3v. But I have seen very different approaches for solving that problem. Most people use logic shifters, but I have also seen the use of Resistors, which makes alot more sense to me for my use case, as I don't really want to send any real information.

The configuration I have seen is having a digital pin of the arduino connect to a "normal" digital pin of the pi, for example Pin40(GPIO21) through a 300Ohm Resistor, connect the Pin on the Pi to ground through a 1K Ohm resistor and the Grounds of the pi and arduino connected as well.

Then I would only have the Pin on the Arduino have set to HIGH for the Pi to trigger.

Is that accurate?

Thank you for your help.

xl97

A Couple things...

Is there a reason you state Pro-Micro?

The Pro-Micro 'bonus' is that it can act as a HID device when connected to a computer/device that accepts keyboard/mouse input.

It doesnt seem that you want to do this (by connecting to the USB port of the PI and acting as a keyboard/mouse.

* There are also +3.3v versions of the Pro-Micro and Pro-Mini for that matter.  (for only a couple bucks USD of ebay)

It 'seems' that a simple +3.3v Pro-Mini could do what you want without the need for any level/logic shifting.  (of course all GNDs will need to still be connected)

tinp

I wrote Pro Micro because it said so on the board, it is the one I already have. The reason I got it is because of the small footprint and because it was 2$ that day.