Go Down

Topic: Due DAC Update Rate / Resolution (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

CogentDev

I'm new to the Due and am having trouble getting good analog voltage resolution from DAC0 and DAC1.   I've been searching through this forum and other websites for a clue.  Many have asked about similar problems or issues, but I have not been able to find this specific issue addressed.

When I upload the attached code and connect a voltmeter to DAC0, the voltage does vary, but does so  in very large increments.   The voltmeter initially indicates 1.26 volts on the pin and remains at this voltage until the serial output indicates over 2 volts.  Once the serial output is over 2 volts the voltmeter jumps from 1.26 to 2 volts.  The voltmeter remains at 2 volts while the serial output increases from 2 volts to 2.6 volts and decreases back below 2 volts.  Once the serial output decreases below 2 volts, the voltmeter drops back down to 1.26 again.  Similarly on the lower half of the sine wave, the voltmeter indicates 0.53 volts while the serial output is below 1.26 volts.  Essentially, I'm only getting 3 steps worth of resolution even though I've specified analogWriteResolution(12). 

I've tried this on both DAC0 and DAC1 on two Due boards with the same results. Based on the analog out voltage limitations of the board, I've also tried limiting the range in the mapping function from 0.5 to 2.5 volts (which did not have an significant effect on the resolution). I have no doubt I'm overlooking something very simple / fundamental, so I appreciate your time and any effort to assist.   

I've attached the code (Dac_test.ino) and the serial output (as an Excel file).

CogentDev

I've re-attached the serial output as a (csv) txt file.

ard_newbie

How about posting your code (between code tags !!)

CogentDev

Per request, code inserted below:

Code: [Select]

float amp;
float phase;
float freq;
float offset;
float aovolt;

unsigned long timestamp;

void setup() {