Go Down

Topic: Catalex Micro SD Card Module: unpredictable savings (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

Felipe2017

Apr 14, 2017, 11:45 pm Last Edit: Apr 14, 2017, 11:53 pm by Felipe2017
Dear Arduino friends,
I am currently working on my fifth Arduino project, the second with the Catalex Micro SD Card Adapter Module v1.0 11/01/2013 - which seems to save whenever it wants to, kind of heterogeneous in what it is doing. I had the same difficulties with the last project that includes this module. I have to admit that I am a beginner though.

In my sketch I added the variable "LOOPS_TO_SAVE_DATA" to define the loops when collected data from twi sensors should be saved. The SD card module always is initialized successfully when starting the Arduino and it does its job at the beginning, however it always stops working after a random number of loops. The number of loops it works fine differs without having a correlation, e.g. sometimes it works just for three data savings, another time (after resetting) for twenty - the maximum (after working with it the last three weeks) was 199 records. I shrank the code to another sketch to test it, even without the command "LOOPS_TO_SAVE_DATA". Same problem.

Code: [Select]

#define PROGRAM "1704X15H"
#define LOOPS_TO_SAVE_DATA 1  // Loops to save data to SD card [1-60 recommended]

#include <SD.h>
#include <SPI.h>
int chipSelect = 4;           // Set chipSelect = 4;
File mySensors;
int z = 0;                       // Variable to save data to SDcard
int loops = 0;                 // Counting loops for test purposes

void setup(void) {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(10, OUTPUT);  // Reserve pin 10 as an OUTPUT (SDcard)
  SD.begin(chipSelect);   // Initialize SDcard with chipSelect on pin 4
}

void loop(void) {
  mySensors = SD.open("data.txt", FILE_WRITE);
  if ((mySensors && z == 0) || (mySensors && z >= LOOPS_TO_SAVE_DATA)) {
    Serial.print("Sensor data successfully saved! Loops: ");
    Serial.println(loops);