Switching Trasistor - Diversity of Values

I'm no expert in Electronics, in fact you can write what I know about it on the back of a first class postage stamp using a 2 inch paintbrush, and I'm certainly an almost blank slate when it comes to the Arduino Uno / Nano, but one recent project has had me baffled. It all revolves around a transistor used as a switch, not as a current amplifier.

I wanted to build my 5 year old grand-daughter a night light and decided to go one step further and build a 3x3x3 LED cube. Like most people, I suppose, I searched the internet for 3x3x3 LED cube build tutorials.

Of the 1 x 10E LotsOfZeros so called tutorials around, especially on YouTube, I'd say that 95 per cent of them are about as informative as my grand-daughter would be in discussing nuclear physics, and about as popular as giving King Herod a job as a babysitter.

Conversely, there are some really good ones out there, including a workable code ( however, getting build error ... prog_uchar does not name a type ... gave me bloody headaches until I worked out what was wrong ). But one thing about these 'good ones' that I found was that, while they mostly ran off 5v, all used relatively the same transistors for switching, only a relatively small proportion used the same value Resistor to the base of the transistors. I found projects that 'worked' using resistors of values between 1k and 47k. This confused me somewhat, and forced me to patronise Google again in the search for the definitive formula for the value of the relevant resistor.