Go Down

Topic: Serial.readBytesUntil() (Read 3134 times) previous topic - next topic

adwsystems

Does the program stall and wait for Serial.readBytesUntil() to complete or is this command interrupt driven?

pert

It's a blocking function. It just sits there waiting until the terminator character is detected, the determined length has been read, or it times out. The default timeout is 1000 ms but you can change it via Serial.setTimeout():
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/StreamSetTimeout

adwsystems

Thank you.

That's what I thought or was afraid of.

sterretje

Aug 06, 2017, 07:23 am Last Edit: Aug 06, 2017, 07:23 am by sterretje
or was afraid of.
Why ;) You can easily work around that by modifying Robin2's example #2 in Serial Input Basics. You can even add a non-blocking timeout if needed.
If you understand an example, use it.
If you don't understand an example, don't use it.

Electronics engineer by trade, software engineer by profession. Trying to get back into electronics after 15 years absence.

adwsystems

Because the program was written by someone else using readBytesUntil(). The functionality I need to add needs to use serialEvent(), so I will have to rewrite the majority of the program including parsing and retesting the modified existing functionality. It is what it is.

sterretje

Although I have never used serial event, it should be straight forward; mix it with Robin's code and you should be done.

Why the need for serial event? Do you have any blocking code?

Electronics engineer by trade, software engineer by profession. Trying to get back into electronics after 15 years absence.

adwsystems

Yes. Serial.readBytesUntil()

There will be "commands" coming in the serial port at any random time therefore Serial.readBytesUntil() cannot be used.

sterretje