Go Down

Topic: Resistor Placement and Value - Understanding assistance needed (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

KG1610

Hi All,

I am new to the Arduino world and new to Electronics
I am hoping someone can explain the following to help me understand whats going on.

What I would like to get more info on is the placement and Value of the resistors used in circuits.
let's use the following as an example and reference.

https://circuits.io/circuits/5145733-interactive-traffic-lights

How do you calculate the resistor value needed?
I understand we use Ohms Law - So the voltage of the Arduino is 5v and the current from the pins is 40ma so using Ohm's Law we would need a resistor with the Value of 125 ohms - is this correct ?

The Second Question is on the placement of the resistors

Why do you put the resistor for the Led before the Led - i.e Digital Pin -> Resistor -> Led -> Ground
in the same example circuit above for the Switch we put the resistor after the switch before the ground.
i.e 5v out -> Button -> Resistor -> Ground

Could you help me understand - links to video's i can watch to learn / an explanation would be great Thank you

MarkT

The resistor stops the LED or Arduino burning out.   Since the Arduino outputs 5V and the LED's forward
voltage is between 1.1 and 3.2V (depending on type/colour), the current would be unlimited without a
resistor to drop the excess voltage.

Without a resistor the internal resistance of the Arduino pin drivers (about 30 to 40 ohms) is the only
thing to limit the current, perhaps to 100mA or more, which is well above the absolute maximum current
for the pin drivers themselves as well as for the LEDs.

In a series circuit like the LED/resistor the order is irrelevant, everything is in series and thus has the same
current, the voltages sum to the same value whatever order the components are in.

The button circuit can be either way round too, though that reverses the sense of HIGH/LOW meaning