Go Down

Topic: Cannot upload Uno from Ubuntu machine (Read 2918 times) previous topic - next topic

UnoArduino

Please pardon my ignorance...I am a newbie.  My Uno will upload from my Windows computer, but I cannot get it to upload from my Ubuntu machine.  I get the following error:

avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

Any assistance would be appreciated.

PaulS

Look up there at the top of the screen. Scroll up, if you need to. See the search field? Just maybe this subject has been raised before. Once or twice. Or maybe more than that.

UnoArduino

Yes, I had seen that Search bar, thanks.  And had used it.  Saw dozens of posts with lots of varying speculation about what the problem might be.  Saw stuff about "bricking" the Uno (which I guess means ruining it).  Saw stuff about modifying Ubuntu files, which is far beyond my capabilities. Was hoping that someone had found a definitive answer since, as stated, I am a neophyte.

PaulS

Was hoping that someone had found a definitive answer since, as stated, I am a neophyte.

The problem is that there isn't A definitive answer. Much depends on what you have installed, how you installed it, what permissions you have, what permissions you need to have, etc., etc., etc.

UnoArduino

Yes, I've been coming to that conclusion, Paul.  I'm a senior citizen, with no background in this stuff.  My son thought it would be cool to put Linux on the machine he built me, and another young guy told me that interfacing the Uno would be a snap.  I wouldn't know what permissions I have if I was staring right at them!  I'm in way over my head here.  Sorry to have imposed upon the forum.

PaulS

Sorry to have imposed upon the forum.

It's not an imposition. The problem is that you are not providing enough information. There are Linux users here, although I'm not one of them, that might be able to help, if they knew what version of Ubuntu you are using.