Go Down

Topic: How to protect arduino from overcurrent (Read 3635 times) previous topic - next topic

maxwell1

Firstly, I am still new to electronics so please bare with me and sorry if my question is naive.

I am working on system that should be secured from destroying the project with intention by flowing over current to i/o pins exceeds the current the arduino needs which as much as I know it's 5v and 2mA through wires that goes to the arduino so in my situation what kind of protection and secure action I can take to prevent destroying arduino with intention that can even reach the 220v more or less and just limit it to the 5v. I don't mind even if I can break the circuit but don't destroy the arduino but also I don't want the solution to be expensive or else I would better buy another arduino instead XD .

Thanks,

Max

MarkT

Take the incoming signal to a MOV/TVS to ground, then a 10k resistor in series to a pair of shottky
diodes to gnd and 5V (reverse biased in normal operation).  The MOV/TVS will catch high voltage
spikes (you should find one with a low triggering voltage, 10 to 20 volts).

The resistor and schottky diodes protect the Arduino input from excess current/voltage and bolster the on-chip
protection diodes (which are puny and designed for static protection only).

On its own the 10k resistor couldn't cope with very high voltages.

If you want to use a pin as an output the series resistor may get in the way - but you haven't said what
you are connecting to the pins.
[ I will NOT respond to personal messages, I WILL delete them, use the forum please ]

DVDdoug

...that can even reach the 220v more or less and just limit it to the 5v.
If you're talking about the power line, you should NEVER make a direct connection to the power line!*    That means you need transformer or optical isolation.