Arduino Uno can't find drivers and ports

Hi, I'm a newbie to Arduino. I have a genuine Arduino Uno board but I have a problem with it. :frowning:
The drivers of the arduino couldn't be installed. PLEASE HELP!!!
These are things I saw:

• The Tools> Port option in the Arduino IDE 1.8.4 is grayed out(can't click on it).
  • In the Device Manager, The Arduino Uno shows in 'Other Devices'.The driver status in the Arduino Uno properties says "The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28) "
  • The updation wasn't working-I saw the message :"The system cannot find the file specified"

I was trying to solve the problem for the last 15 hrs. I couldn't find a solution. Always getting the same message after every updation attempt.
HERE is my PC specs:

• Processor:-Intel(R)Core(TM)i3-3200 CPU @3.30GHz
  • RAM:-6.00 GB

The pics are in the attachment
Can any one help me? :sob: :cry:

Arduino_showing_in_other_devices_and_Code 28_error.PNG

Arduino_Driver_problem.PNG

Maybe its a clone board that needs the CH340 drivers.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply Sir.
I think it's a clone board like you said. but installing the CH341SER driver didn't help.
The driver status still shows Code 28 error. And I am stuck with my project :sob:

Can you post a decent picture of the chip just behind the USB port. (yours is quite a poor pic.)
Nobody here really cares if its a clone or not we just like to help fellow arduino users.

It does sort of look like an FTDI chip in which case the CH340 drivers wont help.
Although it really should work out of the box if that's the case there have been cases where getting the driver from FTDI themselves seems to have helped.

I have attached the pic.
How do I check the type of chip?. :-\ And if it is FTDI, which driver should I download for it? There are a lot of Drivers in the list- VCP, D2XX, D3XX.

The writing on that small square chip tells you what it is. (still not a perfect picture)