Go Down

Topic: Make robot move to specific location using xy coordinates (Read 4467 times) previous topic - next topic

jossie323

For my final project I have to have my robot go from point A to point B, the path it takes it does not matter, but it cannot be predetermined. The robot will have to avoid obstacles.

I have a basic Elegoo smart robot, and I am thinking using XY coordinates would be my best option.

What other materials do I need to make this work. I am guessing I would need some kind of compass or gps so the robot know where it is and where it must be.

If someone can point me in the right direction please, with both the coding and the materials.

Keep in mind I am a beginner! Than You

tzijie

1) are there fixed bounds where robot can travel in? like a grid, 2x2m maze, etc. or is the robot

2) gps... only gives a rough proximity of where u are on EARTH. so unless your robot is moving like down the street, u cant use gps.
u could use a compass to determine robot's current orientation.

3) ur best bet is IR sensors to accurately detect obstacles. ultrasonic sensors if u just need to know if there is something infront

AWOL

You've told us virtually nothing about your problem.

Try again.
Imagine we know nothing about your situation.
This shouldn't strain your imagination, because we don't.

Maybe ask the academic staff about remedial courses or modules on framing questions.

jremington

(X,Y) coordinates are an excellent choice! 

If the robot is at (X1, Y1) and it must go to (X2, Y2), then Bresenham's algorithm will choose the best straight line path.

Your task at this point is to have the robot, i.e. "the materials", determine where it is in (X,Y) space at all times.
No PM's please.

Johan_Ha

Your robot looks cool. Do you have any encoder plates for the wheels to measure the travelled distance?