Go Down

Topic: Controlling no. of rotations of DC motor with quadrature encoder and arduino due (Read 4681 times) previous topic - next topic

RooDonald

Hi,
I am currently doing a project in which I am using a Twisted String Actuator for an assistive leg brace. My part of the project is coding the DC motors to run a set number of turns at a set speed and then reverse direction. I am extremely new to Arduino and have very little experience in any form of coding. From what I have learned so far and found online from other similar projects I have created a code (that will eventually control 2 DC motors but just 1 for just now) that should turn the motor at full speed (255) for 40 revolutions then pause for a few seconds before turning in the opposite direction at full speed for 40 turns. I was curious to see if tit was actually turning the set amount so I changed the code to run it at 50 speed (roughly 20% of max speed) for just 5 revolutions. When I run this code however, it appears to just be running at the speed I have set for the duration of the delay. I am sure this is what is happening as I have kept the number of turns constant but changed the speed and delay values and they seem to match with what is happening.
Can anyone help me with my code and see where I am going wrong?
The Encoder Counting section of the code I have taken from a project that was very similar and had a similar goal with how they wanted their dc motor to run and so I am not sure that it is correct for what I require.
Thanks in advance.

I am using an Arduino Due
a motor driver: https://www.pololu.com/product/708
DC motor with encoder: https://www.pololu.com/product/2270
the encoder is stated as having 211.2 counts per revolution of the gearbox shaft. It is a 48 cpr quadrature encoder.
Although the wiring pictures attached are for different arduino boards I think it should not matter

Paul_KD7HB

Please explain your plan to STOP the motors after the required number of turns!

Paul