WiFi Signal Strength Sensor

For my college final project, I am building a robot that will sense WiFi signals and travel to find HotSpots.
What I'm looking for is advice on what sensors I would need to find WiFi signal strength? I am also building a Sumo bot from scratch and am adapting this to work off of that platform. Any advice would be awesome, as well as possible code that might be useful. I am fairly new to Robot-C but I have taken a course in C++. In particular code in using arduino interupts would be the most helpful.
Thanks a lot to all who can help, I really appreciate it!

I just sent for samples of the Linear LT5534 detector. It's probably not exactly what you want since it detects a wide range of frequencies. You might be able to limit it somewhat to WiFi frequencies and direction with antenna design. I've read of others altering cheap WiFi detector gadgets but I know little about this.

Might get you started anyway.

Thanks a lot for your help! If you have any more advice, please dont be shy on sharing :stuck_out_tongue:

Sure, I can share a bit more. I’ve been looking into making a simple EMF detector that will detect in the common wifi, cell phone, cordless phone and other frequencies used around the home for a neighbor who is paranoid about the new smart meters being put in around here. Searches in these forums and on google provided plenty of fodder. Here’s some links that might apply to your project. You should do similar searches since there’s plenty of info out there.

The Linear LT5534 is tiny. Your college might have resources for utilizing surface mount components. If not here’s the coolest (maybe not the easiest) wiring method I’ve seen for one-off SMT projects:
http://elm-chan.org/docs/wire/wiring_e.html